Footwear reviews and observations

Footwear was our last stop. My only real need this year was a pair of casual boots to replace my worn out silver Elodie platform Chelsea boots. I may make one more purchase, but more on that later. 

As with clothing, plaid and animal print were everywhere. Weatherproof and casual boots and booties are great, and the sneaker selection was fabulous. The sale also includes some great sandals and sandal booties for those in warmer climates. 

I tried on just a few pair of boots/ booties and some sneakers. 

The Pikolinos are "stinking cute," as Angie said, and really comfy. Also very lightweight. I was tempted but felt I only needed one of this type of item and I was completely smitten by the Paul Green tartan lace ups.

I've never owned a pair of Paul Greens but have wanted to for a long time. These are pricey for me, even on sale, but are such a fantastic statement item that I couldn't resist They sing to my late 80s/ early 90s retro fashion gene, without any of the weight of the original Docs. AND they zip up the back so no need to fuss with laces. So there is that. They go by a different sizing system (not US and not EU, weirdly) but anyway, I got the smaller of my 2 sizes. 

I also really loved their sister boot -- the moto buckle up -- but honestly, 2 pair would be overkill. 

The SA brought us the gorgeous taupe Aquatalias to try. Angie said some of her clients found them too narrow. I did not -- for me, they were TTS for Aquatalia, which does run narrower than some brands but not too narrow for my average width forefoot and medium volume foot overall. You can see on Angie they are a gorgeous boot. But they wouldn't work for anyone with a wide or higher volume foot. 

For fun I tried the grey Adidas -- I needed my larger size for those because they run short. They are really cute but I didn't really need them. 

The sneakers at the sale are terrific! Especially the Eccos. They are really featuring those this year, with quite a spread and lots of colourways. I am a longtime Ecco loyalist so I am tempted to get another pair -- I am on my second pair of white Ecco 7s and on my second pair of 8s as well. But I can wait for that. They will go on sale in Canada, too. 

Angie also pointed out quite a lot of dressier flats that she likes. They were too flat for me even to contemplate due to my own fussy foot issues so we just sailed by them with a friendly nod and wave. 

Yesterday, I decided against buying any Blondos at the sale because I can get them cheaper in Canada. But I'm tempted to go back (or order) the Elvinas in snake. I have these boots already in black and taupe and both were absolute workhorses for me last year. I don't know for sure if they will stock this fun colourway in Canada and it might be worth my while to buy now. This print would be brilliant with my hair, and I already know the boot is superb on my foot.

Thoughts? (She says, clearly seeking an enabler!)

1
2
3
4
5
6
This post is also published in the youlookfab forum. You can read and reply to it in either place. All replies will appear in both places.

31 Comments

  • FashIntern replied 1 month ago

    Enabler here. Get the Blondos! They would indeed be great with your hair, and for your style in general. If the price difference is huge, you can do the return/purchase new thing, but have you no fomo?

  • Kathie replied 1 month ago

    Definitely get the Blondos! Especially as there’s no guarantee that the coat and blazer will come back in stock.

  • Runcarla replied 1 month ago

    You demonstrated considerable restraint, Suz. The plaid combat boots are going to be SO MUCH FUN this F/W.

  • JAileen replied 1 month ago

    I’m glad you got the red combat boots. They will be great for your style. Re the Blondos: that’s good to hear that the Elvinas are good boots. I ordered four different snake print shoes, the Elvina being one of them. I was surprised Angie said they were a top pick since they weren’t even in NAS. I like the general look of them best among the shoes I ordered, but will have to decide which feels best.

  • Gretchen replied 1 month ago

    Suz, did you have any issues with the sole on your Elvinas? There are several negative reviews on the Nordstrom site, which is why I held off on purchasing. Wondering if maybe there was a quality issue last year?

  • lisa p replied 1 month ago

    Another enabler reporting on-line . I want them too! Sort of fear the potential clunkiness or heaviness but will consider ordering a pair for myself based on how much you like them . And I apologize for misidentifying the Paul Greens as Docs in your other post . They look great on you :)

  • Barbara Diane replied 1 month ago

    Snake print boots! Snake print boots! Perfection with your hair. They will always be good.
    In addition to the fun plaid ones.

  • Suz replied 1 month ago

    Hahaha, maybe I need seven enablers to send me back to the store. :) 

    I bought black Elvinas last fall. Some reviewers said they fit small -- I did take the larger of my 2 sizes. (I'm an EU 37, a US 6.5 or 7 -- for the Blondos I took size 7, also because I sometimes wear with a bulkier sock.) 

    I bought my black pair in late September. I wore them almost every day from date of purchase until our trip to Arizona in late Oct. / early November, and when I saw they also came in taupe suede and were on sale, I pounced. I then proceeded to wear those even more than the black version. They are just about the perfect heel height/ slope for my foot. 

    I had no problems with the sole. Not sure what people might have meant. They also performed as advertised (i.e. they were waterproof -- I live in Vancouver, you know?) 

    These boots might be a touch narrow at the toe for some. It will depend on the shape of your foot. For me, they have enough width where I need it in the forefoot, and are long enough to fit my toes without squeezing. However, I have very short toes and my second toe is smaller than my big toe -- my toes go down evenly in size to my baby toe -- which means that pointy toes generally work if they are not too extreme. The only fit issue I have with these are the same fit issue I have with every pair of closed footwear -- my heel is loose in them and rubs. I solve that with socks. :) 

  • Angie replied 1 month ago

    Thanks, Suz! Lots of top picks here.

    The tartan boots are KILLER to the Power of KILLER. Will you wear them with the new plaid jacket?

  • Suz replied 1 month ago

    You'd better believe I will wear them with that plaid jacket! I have a complete NAS outfit (minus the top) -- new jeans, new boots, new jacket. :) 

    I will also wear them with just about everything else. A red boot or shoe can be a complete winner in my closet. I am the kid who coined the phrase "red is best." 

  • shevia replied 1 month ago

    Love snake print boots, especially with "our" hair. Great plaid shoes too! 

  • Style Fan replied 1 month ago

    I love the red plaid Paul Green combat boots.  Fantastic.  I am a diehard Doc Martens/Combat Boot fan.  Snakeskin would be great with your hair and seems to be trending.  The style of boot works so well for you.  

  • Staysfit replied 1 month ago

    Suz, I am tempted by the PG’s because I have a red footwear collection, but every picture I see makes the plaid look olive. It’s probably black right? I need to do something about my screens!

  • Laura replied 1 month ago

    Excited about your new statement boots! Hey, red is a neutral, right? Goes with everything!

  • suntiger replied 1 month ago

    Enabling :) You need the boots!

  • nemosmom replied 1 month ago

    Thank you for a great review, Suz! The plaid boots (and the snake ones when you get them) will be great additions to any of your outfits!

  • Bijou replied 1 month ago

    OMG - Those plaid boots are Paul Green!!! My most favourite brand of footwear and they do a boot like Dr Martens in red! I am in trouble and will have to hand over the credit cards to DH. Every year there is just that one special something at NAS that tempts me like no other, these boots are it.

    I hope you get the snakeskin too, I think the enablers are over 10 now, do you need any more encouragement?

  • Thistle replied 1 month ago

    Those plaid boots are a fab statement piece. I am starting to miss my old Docs...

  • RobinF replied 1 month ago

    Love the snakeskin, go for it!

  • Kathie replied 1 month ago

    Bijou, I think you need the red PG boots, too!

  • Christina F. replied 1 month ago

    Another vote for snakeskin boots!

  • Suz replied 1 month ago

    Okay. Votes are in. I'm going to check if they have my size. :) 

    And BIJOU YOU NEED THOSE BOOTS!!! 

    Staysfit, you need them too. It is black, not olive, in the plaid. They are soooooooo lightweight. And surprisingly well fitted. 

  • Staysfit replied 1 month ago

    I had a long and difficult debate over the PG red plaid print boots! In the end I decided against them. I know most people have good luck with PG. For whatever reason, I do not. I am not sure why, but the fit is not quite right most of the time and then the shoes sit idle in my closet. I ordered some turquoise cowboy boots instead! :-)

  • Roxanna replied 1 month ago

    I am so enjoying vicariously shopping through you two! I envy your restraint, Suz, and how the pieces you but behind instant workhorses. It's all that carefully decision making! I love to see what you got and didn't get and why. Thank you for taking the time to write this!

  • FashIntern replied 1 month ago

    Staysfit, hooray for going your own way! Looking forward to seeing the turquoise boots.

  • Briar replied 1 month ago

    Suz, did you or Angie try the Louise ET Cie loafer? I’m really interested in the animal print but they would need to fit a medium wide foot. I am a 6 but when shoes are on the narrower side, I have to go to 6.5.

  • Suz replied 1 month ago

    Briar I didn’t try any flats because flats never stay on my feet and often lack the arch support I need. But Angie said she would be recommending quite a few. I’m not sure if the Louise and Cie is on her list. Sorry I can’t help more.

  • Angie replied 1 month ago

    WOOOHOOO. I can'y wait to see the NAS outfit creation. Getting more red is DEAD RIGHT. 

  • Elizabeth P replied 1 month ago

    And another enabler!  Love the plaid boots, and the snakeskin Blondos.  Did you try calling the Canadian Nordis to see the price/availability etc for those, here?  I might get those myself :)

  • julesegr replied 1 month ago

    Briar, I tried the Louise et Cie loafer in the plaid print. They are unusually snug in my regular size. I thought it might have been due to a long, hot day of shopping but they still are tight. I will stalk the next size up, but they appear to be sold out now. Hope this helps!

  • Sara L. replied 1 month ago

    I'm excited to see the red plaid boots in action.  They look so fun!  I love those snakeskin boots and now I'm thinking I should look for something similar this fall.

You need to be logged in to comment