More boots! Elodie Summit Review ETA Verdict at End.

As I continue to add to my BOOTS vs. booties capsule (duh, I think I finally understand the difference!) I was pleased to receive today for review the Elodie Summit in pewter. 

Apologies for the abysmal light and photos -- such is winter. 

However, I can tell you verbally that they are a delightful boot! 

Not styled -- I put on my burgundy Dres because they are cropped, allowing you to see a bit more. 

They are a roomy 37 -- I have plenty of space for my plantar fasciitis insert in these. There is some space around my ankle (it is easy to get on and off, contra some reviews); yet despite this, it looks quite streamlined on the foot and ankle, for a boot. 

(My feet and ankles, by the way, are what I would call "medium" volume. I have a high arch and instep but my foot is not at all broad or fleshy; my heels are very narrow and my forefoot is a regular B width.)  

They are extremely lightweight (important to someone who walks a lot) and "cushy" because of the platform. It raises me up off the ground (and the snow) quite nicely. There are treads (not lugs) so it is not great for true snow or ice, but should handle other disgusting weather very well. The addition of my PF insert increases the cushioning effect. There is also a lightly padded footbed -- not a lot of padding but more than a Blundstone. 

They have a chisel toe, so they are more refined in person that I imagined from the stock photo. 

The pewter is darker in person than in the stock photo, more a metallic charcoal tone. But still noticeably metallic. 

They are comfortable, albeit a bit on the loose side for me. I might need a thicker sock. 

They are not waterproof (although the sole is). I sprayed them. They'll be fine in light rain and in low puddles but not in a true downpour or deep water. 

They cost me an arm and a leg so I hope I enjoy them. I got them on a great sale...but the duty/ taxes amounted to $61!!! Sheesh!!! 

Still, if they work as I suspect they will work, they are going to be worth it. A fantastic Blundstone substitute/ upgrade for me. Not good for true snow, obviously -- but excellent in other kinds of yucky conditions, good to walk in, yet interesting enough to feel like part of an outfit rather than pure gear. 

Yay Angie for her metallic boot purchase that put me on the hunt!

PS my magpie gene is not completely satisfied and I still have space for more silver footwear. :) 

1
2
3
4
This post is also published in the youlookfab forum. You can read and reply to it in either place. All replies will appear in both places.

71 Comments

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    I have to add that a chelsea boot is one of those iconic items that just HAS to be in my wardrobe or I'm bereft. I don't know what it is about them...I put on a good pair of chelsea boots and I literally feel like I can take on the world. Even on the worst day possible. 

    I guess that makes it a signature style item. Which is why I was feeling so sad when my Blunnies were hurting my PF and making it worse....these are going to make me so happy. 

  • Christina F. replied 3 months ago

    Fellow magpie here. I’m dying over these, especially with those pants.

    I am just starting to think about Chelsea boots myself. I don’t have any!

  • gryffin replied 3 months ago

    Suz - those look great!! They are the pewter version of the EF Chelsea boot which I have and love. Enjoy them!!

  • smittie replied 3 months ago

    These look awesome! I think the platform is just great. I actually really like the dark metallic.

  • Janet replied 3 months ago

    I love them and they look great on you! Yay for good boots!

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    I'm actually wondering if they did not ship the bronze by mistake! It says silver on the box...but in the evening light it is looking more bronze-ish. Hmmm. 

    I can't really do anything about it because in order to exchange them it would be a huge mess and rigamarole. I just hope they look a bit more silvery in daylight...because I love them! 

    Smittie, thanks. The platform is really good. Gryffin, wow, that is right! They are quite similar. Christina, if you have a lifestyle that needs on/off boots, Chelseas are perfect -- plus they always make me think of the Fab Four. :) 

  • jussie replied 3 months ago

    Thanks for this review. They look great. I really like them. Enjoy!

  • Toban replied 3 months ago

    They look fantastic and glad to hear they are comfy. I brought my Chelsea boots on my Vancouver trip and they fit right in. I can see why they’d be an essential for you.

  • Angie replied 3 months ago

    THEY LOOK KILLER 

    (Consider your Magpie - Lite gene satisfied). 

    WOW, Suz. The most refined chunky boot I've seen. Totally suit you and fit beautifully. 

  • lisa p replied 3 months ago

    Now we're talking ! These are beauties and look great on you! I love a chelsea boot too, and find them a must-have here for all of the reasons you mention . I recently got talked into a chunky- heel version by a charming young man at Brown's and cannot stop wearing them .

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Those look amazing, Lisa! Are they the Brown's brand? 

    I'm sitting here confusing myself to bits...are the ones I got bronze or silver? Ugh! It will be a nightmare to return them if they are bronze. And I don't want to lose out on having these boots! They're perfect for my needs. 

  • smittie replied 3 months ago

    The bronze is a good colour too. Still very silvery and neutral that it will work with your colour palette.

    They look closer to the bronze, but the photos are very yellow.

  • Elizabeth P replied 3 months ago

    Those are awesome Suz. Just awesome. They look better on your feet than in the photo, the proportions look better.

    Wait until daylight. Call them. I bet exchanging won’t be that bad, if it’s a packaging mistake they’ll likely cover the costs. Maybe you can order the silver and return the bronze (if they are) so you’ll get them quicker than an actual exchange?

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Problem is, they came from the US and I had to pay HEFTY taxes/ duties and those are really difficult to get refunded -- and I would have to pay again! Plus pay for the return itself. It would make them insanely expensive. 

    I really prefer to have silver, though. I just wish I could compare in genuine light. I'm with Smittie --they look quite bronze -- but then again the light is super yellow. I have tried to take them under strong light and still can't really tell. They are much darker than the stock photo silver. 

    And Smittie, they'd blend okay...but....they're not as seamless to work in, not at all. I really want them to bookend...

  • smittie replied 3 months ago

    Instead of wearing them with burgundy, can you see what they look like with blue pants? Maybe they take on the hue of what’s next to them.

    If you got them from Nordstrom, I think you can fill out a form to get your taxes back.

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    I got them from Shoebuy. Nordstrom did not have my size or I'd have ordered from there. This was the only way I could find to get them to Canada. I'll take a look tomorrow when the light is better. It really IS yellow, tonight -- more than usual somehow. And yes, I had considered that the burgundy might affect the tone, but comparing them to a pewter belt they definitely look bronze. Ugh!! So frustrating. They're the perfect thing! 

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Now of course I am obsessing like an idiot. 

    This is how they look on the company's website: http://www.summitwhitemountain.....-boot.html

    And then, here are the Zappos pics of Bronze and Silver. Mine look in-between. Maybe I have something completely different! 

  • Elizabeth P replied 3 months ago

    You’ll get all your duties back if you return. I’ve never used shoebuy but I’m sure they can help, esp if it’s an error. Did you pay at the post office? Or when you ordered?

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Paid UPS at the door. 

    I'm pretty sure these are bronze the more I look. Box says silver, though. I wonder if they can take photos to help me compare. Or if anyone has seen them in person. 

  • Angie replied 3 months ago

    Wait till daylight!

    I don't think they are bronze, but a more pewter silver. And is that so bad? Consider it a wild card and create a complement with belt and scarf. I thought my Bordeaux boots were brown until I saw them in natural right. It was a fab accidental mistake because the boots were the catalyst for my burgundy capsule. 

    I they ARE the bronze rendition, you can return and get your duties back. 

  • jlpp replied 3 months ago

    They’re really pretty and certainly look great on you, whichever the color & I hope it ends up what you most want! These have a silvery/pewtery look to me, fwiw. Magpie here too and definitely wanting some sparkly boots! :)

  • Elizabeth P replied 3 months ago

    If you have your receipt you’ll be ok. You’ll need to download a form and submit supporting documents.

    But the bronze looks really bronze in the online pics. I’d be surprised if you wouldn’t have noticed right away. Hopefully it’s just the light.

    Also hope you can sleep tonight and not worry .

  • lisa p replied 3 months ago

    Michael Kors . And I see what you mean about them being less silver than bronze - but might they not be ok anyways ? I know you like to stick to silver but for something that is so perfect in every other way , I like Angie’s idea of building a little grouping around the colour . I’d offer to buy them from you if you were able to find the silver but we’re not the same size :(

  • smittie replied 3 months ago

    Firstly, I think Angie is right and that you need to test them out and see if you like the colour. It could be a happy accident.

    Here is some info on the form. Seems straightforward https://www.crossbordershoppin.....rned-to-us

    However, maybe this shoe retailer knows about cross-border shopping and can fill in and send the form for you. I’m not sure.

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Thanks, all. I will sleep okay -- and then look again in the morning and take some more photos. 

    Maybe someone on the forum who has seen both will be able to give an opinion then. 

    I will also look inside the boot at the insole to see if the colour is specified somewhere on the boot itself. 

    The worst that will happen is a little lost money and/or a hassle. 

    Who knows. Maybe I'll end up with TWO new metallic boots. ;)

  • jlpp replied 3 months ago

    Ha. As a sparkly shoe enabler, two sounds fun to me!

  • shevia replied 3 months ago

    Love! If I lived in your climate they would move to the top of my wish list! Perfect cross of function and style.

  • DonnaF replied 3 months ago

    FWIW I have some pewter boots and they look slightly bronze/gold just like yours versus a cool silver. I guess that’s pewter! They look great on you!

  • Jenni NZ replied 3 months ago

    On my phone screen your ones look exactly like their website's ones which say silver. I suspect Zappo's colour is wrong. I think you have silver but they are more pewter-y ( new word?) than you expected.

  • Style Fan replied 3 months ago

    Gorgeous boots, Suz.  I am checking them out.

  • Mainelady replied 3 months ago

    Love those! Yes, check the color in different lighting, to see what you think. My opinion is that they are a gorgeous color!

  • La Pedestrienne replied 3 months ago

    So fun!! I have a feeling they are the pewter, but reflecting the warm tones in your home.

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Thanks, all. So of course it is super cloudy today again and all our lights are on! 

    But I tend to think Jenni is right. They call is silver...but it's actually more pewter, and that was a bit of a surprise. If I put it up against "coppery" things in the house, it looks metallic charcoal. 

    If I put it up against true silver, it looks sort of bronze. 

    I'll snap pics later on. And try to refrain from wearing them today which is exactly what I want to do!

  • Janet replied 3 months ago

    Suz, I think if it's THAT hard to tell which color they are, it's not worth fretting too hard. I've gotten much more accepting of non-true-silver metallics. Champagne, bronze, etc., all work, even though I am an avowed silver fan, and sometimes a more in-between tone ends up being a little more versatile.

    Unless 1) these are actively clashing with what you have, and 2) you don't like the color, I don't see it as a deal-breaker. But YOU have to be happy with them. :-)

  • Janet replied 3 months ago

    Oh, and I must confess, even though I have plenty of boots, your boot posts have made me click on the links and actively ponder ordering them! 

    Considering I just got a pair of not-cheap oxfords, and a pair of metallic sneakers, I should not be looking at more boots! I need to save it for a possible new pair of sandals for summer instead. :-)

  • Christina F. replied 3 months ago

    Ah, the old pewter-silver switacharoo. If that’s the case, I think pewter is quite sophisticated. I hope and predict that you will be happy after you adjust you get used to it a little bit, but if you just decide ultimately that what you really wanted to have true silver, that’s understandable! As for bronze, I wouldn’t be happy either. It’s not a happy making color, for me, even if it would go with stuff just as well.

  • Beth Ann replied 3 months ago

    I call this color, "chameleon metallic," and I adore metallics that shift slightly against different colors and in different lights.  I have a pair of rose gold slipper sneaks that gleam with more or less pink, depending on conditions.  Most important to me is a burnished gleam, rather than an outright shine --

    Hope these are terrific for your needs!

  • Angie replied 3 months ago

    I vote wear them! 

    ETA: you NEED variety in this type of workhorse, Suz. You can get a true silver pair of booties too. 

  • Runcarla replied 3 months ago

    Like Jenni Z I find they look silver on my screen! Not light/white silver, but darker patina'd silver. What do they look like next to white?

  • Marilyn replied 3 months ago

    I've been reading this thread like a thriller waiting for the big reveal.....what is the true colour!  Carla is right......Put them against a sheet of white paper.  You should get a good representation that way.

    Regardless, they're great boots, Suz.

  • RobinF replied 3 months ago

    Love them! I hope they work for you because they are gorgeous.

  • Sara L. replied 3 months ago

    They sound perfect except for the confusion over the color.  I have a pair of pewter sandals that seem to change color like this - sometimes they look silver, sometimes gold.  I finally learned to ignore the color thing and just wear them.

  • karen13 replied 3 months ago

    They look gorgeous on you! No matter what the color. I don’t own any Chelseas and now I’m wondering why.

  • harmonica replied 3 months ago

    They look fantastic on you! The fact that the colour seems to change according to light and surroundings is especially intriguing. I have a pair of bronze metallic booties and they go with everything because of this.

  • bonnie replied 3 months ago

    The boots look perfect. They also sell them on Amazon. 

  • Karie replied 3 months ago

    I say whatever the color, keep and wear! Maybe they will end up being the perfect winter style refresher. Variety is the spice of life after all!

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    The verdict: pewter. 

    Here are some daylight shots. Or daylight, so to speak. It's really cloudy and grey again. And seriously difficult to get decent light. 

    But..on an off-white bedspread, at the window, at the window with the coppery-bronzey-brassy toned window pull, next to blue grey lounge pants and silver watch on a white background, and then, to show how chameleon they really are, against black. 

    Thanks for going for the ride with me on these! I will keep and wear. 

  • Jenni NZ replied 3 months ago

    Wow! You wouldn't believe that 1, 4 and 6 were the same boots! Fun!

  • Christina F. replied 3 months ago

    Pewter for the win! YAY! I'm so happy for you. I think they look better in your pics than in the stock pics, as well. Strongly tempted to lemming, but I've fit my monthly budget due to my trench coat quest.

  • smittie replied 3 months ago

    These are crazy chameleon boots!
    They looks fab. I am so excited for you about these.

    I super want them, lol!

    But I must stay focussed and stick to the plan of a black bootie.

    Black bootie black bootie black bootie

    Not silver not silver not silver

  • Janet replied 3 months ago

    Yay! I actually LIKE that they are chameleon like! I have a few items like that, and they seem to pick up the tones in whatever I wear with them, making them especially versatile. Enjoy!

  • Roxanna replied 3 months ago

    Lol @smittie I'm doing the same thing!

  • anchie replied 3 months ago

    Suz, these are really beautiful boots, glad you have decided to keep them. I have a pair in almost exact same color, and I find them very versatile. They make every outfit little bit more special. They are not light enough to bookend our hair, but a lighter and more interesting then black boots that I usually default to in the winter. But we both maybe need another pair of lighter silver boots :)

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Full disclosure, I also have these, below! 

    But, in my defence, those are BOOTIES, not boots, in other words, they are unwearable for all but 4 weeks of my year, which is why I decided to waste my money on them. :) 

  • rachylou replied 3 months ago

    Hey man. You’re going punk! :D

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Test drove them...they did well! No blisters. 

    I've always had a little punk shadow style, Rachy. Urban Prince and all that. Here's punk lite -- plaid, safety-pin-inspired earrings, BF jeans, and stompy boots. 

  • Elizabeth P replied 3 months ago

    Yay!  Sometimes it takes a while to get ones head around something that isn't exactly as anticiapted... but I like this colour a lot.  It looks very silver in the natural daylight photos.  I'm glad you've decided to keep them, and that they passed the test drive.

  • Marilyn replied 3 months ago

    Excellent!  I actually really like the darker pewter colour.  You keep posting all these cool boots and now I feel like I need boots! LOL  I'm thinking about ordering the Taos Crave boots in indigo but haven't pulled the trigger yet.  I should stop procrastinating because the only size left is 36.  Now I think I need pewter boots too. :)

    Fantastic outfit, Suz.  I noticed that you're wearing Dre jeans.  Did you size down in those?  I've wanted to try a pair but Nordstrom is always out of small sizes when I'm there.

  • Elizabeth P replied 3 months ago

    Marilyn, my Dre's are my normal size.

  • Vanessa replied 3 months ago

    These are lovely.

  • rachylou replied 3 months ago

    I love it! :)

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Thanks all! 

    My Dres are my normal size, too. They vary, though, in fabrication. So some fit looser than others. These ones used to be looser on me (ahem)  and my burgundy ones are still on the loose but not baggy side. The cut is magical for my body. Apparently some are higher rise now, too -- I'm going to be looking out for those. It's the shape of the leg I love. 

    Some Fabbers tried and loathed them. Pocket placement/ size is an issue for some people. I think they tend to work well if your hips are relatively slim and your thighs are less slim (or slim). 

  • Marilyn replied 3 months ago

    Thanks for the input on the Dres, Suz and Elizabeth.

  • Dianna replied 3 months ago

    Suz, those boots are fantastic, I am glad you are keeping them because they look better on you than on the stock photo.

  • Firecracker replied 3 months ago

    Those boots are awesome, Suz. Glad you're keeping them. I agree with Dianna, they look so much more beautiful in all your photos than in the stock photo. I'm with Janet--you've made me covet them, even though another pair of boots is the last thing I need. (And I'm not sure I get your distinction between boots and booties; guess I missed that thread. . . . off to look!)

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    Sharan, it's not a distinction that matters too much to you. It's about my weather and lifestyle vs. my style preferences. 

    Technically, perhaps all short boots are "booties." 

    But for my non-stop walking lifestyle in a city where slush, ice, snow, and a mixture of those with salt and grit are a fact of life for at least 5 months a year, and where casual dress is the environmental norm, the pretty booties (relatively thin soled, delicate leather or suede) that would work wonderfully, even in this city, if I drove to work and had an office job, languish in my closet without a single wear. Whereas a more rugged boot will be worn and worn often. 

    My style preference is for more refined footwear, but my life dictates otherwise. 

  • Elizabeth P replied 3 months ago

    Funny you should bring up boots vs booties Suz.  I was recently trying to  label a find, and didn't even see "boots" in the categories I had to choose from.  There were mid calf boots, and high boots, but no ankle boots, which was what these were.  I also differentiate between the two, and think of booties being more of a dress/refined/less tough boot.  Boots are boots, maybe with a more utilitarian function? 

    Hmm, thinking something like a Doc Marten.... no way would I think of those as a bootie. 

    Anyhoo..............

  • La Pedestrienne replied 3 months ago

    I appreciate the distinction between boot and bootie. Boot implies utility, whereas a bootie, to me, sounds delicate. This is also making me realize that I'm an unrepentant Boot Person. I'm attracted to the aesthetic of lug soles and thick leather. I have a hard time adding the more refined styles; a pair of "occasion booties" is a long-time HEWI that I've written about several times now. :)

  • Jenni NZ replied 3 months ago

    What about shooties? Shoe booties?

  • torontogirl replied 3 months ago

    Uber-cool Suz, and very polished!

  • Firecracker replied 3 months ago

    aha!

You need to be logged in to comment