The Shoe Review, Part 2: Mistakes were Made

Ok, so that sounds a bit more portentous than it should. 

It was only one mistake. 

You may recall I recently did a big footwear edit and summer shoe renewal. 

I bought: 

  • EOS white sneakers
  • Naturalizer silver sneakers
  • Cole Haan knit oxfords
  • Naturalizer heeled sandals
  • Naturalizer slingbacks 

The good news, moving backwards: 

1. I managed to nab a sale pair of the Banks slingbacks in the size up from the size I showed in the earlier post. This size fits better in the length and (so far) does not fall off my heel! Score!  I predict a long future for these in the closet since they are such a fun, classic, retro style and easy to wear. 

2. The Vera heeled sandals also seem like a win. Admittedly, I have only worn them around the house, but they feel flexible, stable, and they do not rub. 

3. The Cole Haan oxfords get rave reviews all over, and I can understand why. Admittedly, I haven't worn them out of the house yet. But I am wearing today and I am impressed. Very lightweight. Unusually supportive for a flat shoe, which may have to do with the slight lift at the back and the fact that they are not too wide. (I do not have a narrow foot overall -- my forefoot is medium width. But my mid foot and heel are apparently narrow or lower volume -- more on that in a moment). In any case, I really like these and imagine they will be good travelling shoes. They look good with dresses or pants because they are quite refined. 

4. The Naturalizer sneakers are a huge win! I have worn them now on a 4.5 km walk, a 3 km. walk, shorter jaunts, and around the house (at first) and I got no blisters! Also, they are supportive enough for me so far without a special insole (which I usually need to add to sneakers to make them wearable.) Very cushy and comfy! 

5. The MISTAKE. The EOS sneaker, which was so comfy out of the box and in the house, gave me a massive heel blister on my first real outdoor outing. Even with socks on. I gave the shoes a rest for a day or two, loaded up on blister bandages, and substituted my Superfeet insole. No luck -- it was still too sloppy for my foot and I got blisters on my toes this time! UGH. 

I can't return, obviously, but I'm hopeful the situation can be remedied. I'm going to try next time with double insoles -- the manufacturer's, plus one of my slim Superfeet insoles -- and see how that goes. It feels more secure on try-on. 

It just goes to show that footwear purchases don't always go the way we think they will go -- even when we take special care. 

1
2
3
4
This post is also published in the youlookfab forum. You can read and reply to it in either place. All replies will appear in both places.

19 Comments

  • Angie replied 1 year ago

    I had to look up the word "portentous" :)

  • Angie replied 1 year ago

    4/5 shoe wins is EXTRAORDINARY! I'd have been elated with ONE! 

    Such stellar updates, and good news, Suz! These shoes are gorgeous, and seamlessly work with your style! Dressy and casual bases covered. Brilliant refresh! 

    As for those pesky EOS sneakers. Soooo close! That type of thing happens to me too. What can you do??? Hopefully you can troubleshoot. Keep us posted. 

    ENJOY :)

  • kkards replied 1 year ago

    Grrr… yes footwear can lure you in, you try it and it’s comfy, then you wear it for a while and boom something’s off.  But yay for finding so many pairs that did work! 

  • ANewMindset replied 1 year ago

    Congrats!

    Coincidentally, i bought the silver sneakers too. I havent even worn them around the house yet because I was on the fence about them. But they look so great on you i am going to give them a closer look!

  • ChristelJ replied 1 year ago

    You did amazingly well! All look just great on you and give you tons of smart options. So sorry about the "mistake"; it's beyond annoying that one often can't tell about a shoe until wearing it out of the house for a while, and thus can't return it. I hope your plan of double insoles works.

    I'm glad to hear especially about the Naturalizers being so comfy. They are so cute! I have had good luck with that brand in the past, and you are tempting me to try again. I'm all about shoes with tons of cushion these days. PF has upended my entire shoe collection.

  • Suz replied 1 year ago

    ChristelJ, it is the same for me! PF has made shoe shopping an entirely different experience. I need cushioning, or insoles, or heel inserts, or heaven only knows what. At least I need those for all day shoes, shoes I intend to walk in for any length of time. Either that, or exactly the right level of lift in the heel...

    I was astonished, actually, at how sore my entire foot got in the EOS shoes. I guess it is just too wide overall -- but my arches were killing me, and so was my heel, and so were my toes...while in the store and at home I felt like I was walking on a cloud! 

    Oh well. I guess that's just how it goes and it is one reason I typically stick with brands I know. For me, Ecco sometimes (though not 100%) provides a good fit with a Superfeet insole. But I needed a sneaker with more of a platform. I had tried Naturalizer pumps and sandals years ago and those were a flop, so I hesitated this time to go for them. But I know Angie has had success (in their narrows) and the sneakers got fantastic reviews. So I took a chance, and glad I did! 

  • LJP replied 1 year ago

    Sorry to hear about the EOS sneaker - that’s very frustrating . However the others are such successes …..

  • ChristelJ replied 1 year ago

    Thanks Suz. Yes, I have been using cushions, insoles and heel inserts too but really only one pair of sneakers (OnCloud) and one brand of sandals (Baretraps) work well for me at this point. Eccos do not work for me. I need another sneaker! I will look into it.
    Meanwhile, I am happy you will be prancing about in several new pairs of beauties!

  • Dee replied 1 year ago

    That sneaky EOS sneaker, pretending to be all comfy at the start,  shame though, but glad the others will serve you well.

  • Runcarla replied 1 year ago

    Glad the Naturalizer Banks is working out for you!  :-)

  • Firecracker (Sharan) replied 1 year ago

    I really like the successful pairs! Your reviews are helpful.

    Your experience with the EOS reminds me a little bit of mine with P448 sneakers a couple of years ago. They were so comfy right away, and then turned out to be losers when I tried to wear them for any length of time. I donated them. I have very little patience for trying to make a shoe work. :(

  • Suz replied 1 year ago

    Sharan, I hope I don't wind up donated the EOS too, but alas, it might go that way. We'll see. 

    Carla, thanks for your Banks recommendation and reviews. I would not have tried them if I hadn't seen them on you. 

    Thanks, Dee, Lisa, kkards, Angie, ANewMindset

    ChristelJ, those are brands I will have to try! Thank you! Also, with the Eccos -- at least two of their lasts don't work for me but several others do (with Superfeet insole). So I always have to try with caution. 

  • Style Fan replied 1 year ago

    Four out of five sounds like success to me.  I like all your shoes.  Footwear has to be worn before we know if it works.  I find that very frustrating (and expensive).
    Also, I love the way silver footwear looks on you.  So good.

  • Nomad replied 1 year ago

    Shoes are so hard! Some of them are sneaky; they feel fine during try-on but then you end up with a blister after some real walking. I wouldn't call that a mistake at all; the shoe just betrayed you. ;)  And the rest look great!

  • ANewMindset replied 1 year ago

    Suz- question for you on the silver sneakers - did you buy your normal size and did they stretch at all? I wore mine around the house for a bit... they feel a little heavy, but only on the top of my foot if that makes sense. I am wondering if they are just a touch small... will try them out again tomorrow with no socks. I had thin ones on today. Thank you!

  • Suz replied 1 year ago

    ANewMindset -- So, my best size (usually -- except, apparently, with those EOS 37s, sigh!)  is an EU 37. In N. American shoes I am between a 6.5 and a 7 but I usually go for the 7 on the theory that a little big is better than a little small. And often I add an insole anyway that takes up any extra room. 

    I ordered the 7 and the fit is excellent without an extra insole. So it is possible that someone with longer toes might want a half size up from their usual. For me, they are TTS, but every foot is different! 

  • Jaime replied 1 year ago

    Ok no quick solutions but silver shoes were made for you and I still a big fan the look in #2!

  • ANewMindset replied 1 year ago

    Thanks Suz! The next half size up appeared to be out of stock everywhere so i ordered another pair in same size but wide width. Maybe that bit of extra room will help.

  • lyn67 replied 1 year ago

    Other than the EOS is all killer scored-think you still managed to find yourself some lovely shoes, I either see now the sling backs look better in the half size up on your feet, too!:-).

You need to be logged in to comment