Sock it to me: 1177 Review

(Sorry, bad pun). 

Janet recently started a great thread about socks.

Her timing was brilliant for me because I had just been fretting about my paucity of knee highs. As many of us have noted, these are a new necessity with the wider leg trousers if you live in a cold or even cool climate.

My favourite gear and more-than-gear store (Altitude) always has a Black Friday week sale, so I decided to try out a new-to-me brand of trouser socks. The sale was substantial so I ordered a bunch. They arrived today and I put one pair through its paces (ha ha again...my 10,000 steps in disgusting weather).  I have to say I am very impressed!!

The brand is 1177.

https://www.1177.store/en/

I'm usually an Icebreaker or Smartwool wearer but their knee high selection leaves a lot to be desired, at least in the thinner trouser sock department.

I was skeptical about these, because they are not wool but some man-made fabric.

But...wonder of wonders...what they claim on that website is totally true! Your feet don't sweat or get cold. Or at least mine did not. (These styles would not be warm enough for -20C but that is not what I am talking about.) It was a cold and extremely rainy 6 or 7C in Vancouver today -- felt much colder, to me -- and I wore these with my waterproof Cons. Those shoes have Goretex lining so they sometimes become uncomfortably warm indoors, even with breathable wool socks. Today, though, I felt perfectly comfortable inside and out.

Meanwhile, the fit of these socks is spectacular! There is a right and a left foot! The heel is constructed so that it stays on your own heel (even if narrow, like mine -- and you know, I have SERIOUS sock slippage with most brands). The leg portion does not slip down but it does not feel in the least constricting and it doesn't leave a big red mark on my leg where the top elastic is. The sock is thin enough for dress shoes. And it comes in a ton of patterns and a few plains.

Of course I can't vouch for how well or how long they will wear, but I am extremely pleased so far and would recommend them. I ordered size small for my 6.5 / 37/ 7 foot.

ETA: Thanks for other recommendations, all. A little update -- they are not completely perspiration free -- I guess you can't have a synthetic sock that doesn't sometimes create that problem. And they are not the warmest. But they do fit, stay up, and are washing well. And comfort level higher than some other synthetics I have tried, for sure.

This post is also published in the youlookfab forum. You can read and reply to it in either place. All replies will appear in both places.

16 Comments

  • rachylou replied 3 months ago

    Oh excellent review and discovery! Warm socks are precious!

  • Gigi replied 3 months ago

    Wow, left and right socks! I had no idea that that was a thing anywhere. I hope they wear well for you.

  • ChrisM replied 3 months ago

    Love that they have sizes! One-size-fits-most usually doesn’t work for me! Off to take a look!

  • nemosmom replied 3 months ago

    Thanks for the review, Suz!  Love the fun patterns and colors you picked up!

  • Inge replied 3 months ago

    This is really good to know, Suz, thank you! I was just saying the other day that it's almost impossible to find knee-length socks for women in the stores here. They're all ankle or mid-calf length, so almost no options at all. No idea why.

  • Janet replied 3 months ago

    Oh, this is really good info to have! I did end up getting some of these mild compression trouser socks, which do stay up beautifully. But good socks are surprisingly hard to find! I'm making a note of this brand.

    Now I need to solve the problem of mid-calf socks that get eaten by my Pikolonos boots. Sometimes -- like just the other day -- I want to wear them with skinnier jeans, and the combination of knee highs and skinny jeans is no good. They stick together and the jeans ride up and stay there. I suspect the culprit is a slightly wide heel on me, and I tried putting on some of those thingies inside the back heel of the boot, but that hasn't worked. I need crew/mid-calf socks that stay put too! 

  • Style Fan replied 3 months ago

    Thanks, Suz!  I will look into these.  I have some Smartwool knee socks and a pair of no-name wool knee socks.  The no-name ones are excellent but I can't find any more of them.  Too bad because they are so good.

  • Bijou replied 3 months ago

    What a fun post. Good socks, especially when you walk as much as you do, are so important. I will look out for these.

  • kkards replied 3 months ago

    thanks for the recommendation, will put this brand on my list to try. aslo want to recommend this brand, Stance, which also comes in sizes, and some interesting designs, including many that seem to have star wars as a theme 

  • Bennett replied 3 months ago

    Well, as soon as you said there's a right foot and a left foot I HAD to have this experience! But boo-hoo, not found in the US yet? I am crushed!

  • Bennett replied 3 months ago

    Plus, don't ever say "sock it to me" again, ever - really......  

  • Janet replied 3 months ago

    Speaking of the L-R designated socks...I have a couple of pairs of Puma athletic ankle socks that I think I bought at Marshall’s like 10 years ago. They are marked for L and R and somehow, miraculously, they are still going pretty strong. I wear them mostly around the house (I really should get slippers), so it’s pretty amazing they’re still intact! I wonder if Puma still makes good socks.

  • Suz replied 3 months ago

    I know, Bennett, it's really a BAD pun. With terrible associations these days. Oh dear. 

    We used to sing that song to our baby who always kicked her socks off. So my personal associations are a little silly. 

    Thanks for other recommendations, all. A little update -- they are not completely perspiration free -- I guess you can't have a synthetic sock that doesn't sometimes create that problem. And they are not the warmest. But they do fit, stay up, and are washing well. And comfort level higher than some other synthetics I have tried, for sure. 

  • FashIntern replied 3 months ago

    Those do sound like good socks!

    But I somehow glazed over on the number, assuming it was a date, I think. I was therefore expecting to read all about your socks this year—would’ve been surprising, seeing what all else is going on with you this year!

  • April replied 3 months ago

    I'm a total grinch about "fun" socks (mine are all boring neutrals, 90% black) but I totally appreciate the importance of great socks and am glad you found some.  

  • Staysfit replied 3 months ago

    Thanks for the review Suz.  When DS started college 4 years ago, I needed a pair of socks when I was moving him into the dorm. I purchased some merino wool Darn Tough socks at a local shop and they were amazing. They lasted through multiple washes, were warm and comfy, and seemed to fit my feet well.   Last year when I needed more socks, I purchased  from the Darn Tough website. They have a wide range of sizes, shapes and colors to fill all sorts of sock needs from dressy to sporty.  I am happy with them although they are pricey.

You need to be logged in to comment