A few J. Crew reviews

I've picked up a few J. Crew items in the past few weeks and since most are still available I thought I'd offer some reviews. 

The perfect shirt I already posted and CrazyOne has also reviewed it. Lightweight cotton in gorgeous colours -- it is brighter lighter than pictured and flattering to different skin tones as it works for C1 and for me. 

The long downtown field jacket: I was in need of a very casual yet not "gear" coat for warmer weather. This is unlined waxed cotton that is good for light rain but not a complete downpour. It fits TTS; I have the XS and can layer under it. Lots of great pockets. The zipper is a bit hard to work (even with graphite applied) simply due to its being a two-way -- you know how those can be tricky to get going? Anyway, I'm getting better at it with practice. The green is gorgeous but I didn't want the gold hardware so went for the navy. The corduroy collar is really nice. 

The striped cashmere tee. I'm a big fan of these J. Crew tees; I own a Collection version in a pink from several years ago (pictured also but sadly no longer available) which is slightly softer, but even the regular ones are pretty good with a cami underneath. This is my version of a tee shirt in winter since it layers nicely under a jacket or coat and can be topped with a scarf. The grey stripe is fun. I loved the green/ blue, too but decided the grey would be easier for me to pattern mix. 

I'm also keeping the jacket, by the way. I think I can make it work and now I am on the hunt for buttons to replace the gold. If anyone has a good source (Etsy?) please let me know! 

1
2
3
4
5
This post is also published in the youlookfab forum. You can read and reply to it in either place. All replies will appear in both places.

32 Comments

  • approprio replied 1 year ago

    Good job with the buttons! Etsy is your friend, but I have a couple of excellent haberdashers around here. If you have something in mind and can specify sizes, I'd be happy to look.

  • Elizabeth P replied 1 year ago

    Great pieces for you, Suz.  I love that navy coat.  And I'm glad you're keeping the pink jacket.. I do think you can "Suzify" it.  And I'm glad you are changing the buttons.

  • Suz replied 1 year ago

    Liz, thank you. I will check the sizes. There are two main buttons and 8 sleeve buttons. I did find a few on Etsy that looked potentially fun  -- I'll post in a separate thread in a few days. 

  • Muffin replied 1 year ago

    Nice pieces! I also like a lightweight knit sweater as the temps cool. I'm so glad you are keeping the pink blazer. I actually bought it this weekend and have already worn it twice. I haven't decided about the buttons but with my blonde hair I kind of like them.

  • rebekahphoto replied 1 year ago

    I really like the pink coat on you. I have the hot pink Majesty coat & it is such a happy colour.
    I have in the past purchased vintage coats at the thrift store just for the quality buttons---when you see the prices of new buttons it makes perfect sense!

  • Sterling replied 1 year ago

    I am a big fan of reviews.  I find them so useful. 

  • JAileen replied 1 year ago

    I'm glad you're keeping the pink jacket. I thought it looked great on you. JCrew's love of gold buttons and zippers is so annoying! I was going to suggest what Rebekah said - go to the thrift store and buy a coat just for the buttons. It's probably cheaper than buying new buttons. The thrift store where I volunteer, we had a beautiful vintage coat with gorgeous buttons. Someone took it into the dressing room and stole the buttons!

    The blue jacket looks so smart on you. I think it'll be really useful on windy and drizzly days. Last year I tried on the downtown field jacket. To get comfortable enough sleeves I had to size up, but then the body was so blocky on me. The fact that this one has a waist cinch, it might have worked for me, but I bought another jacket in the meanwhile.

  • Suz replied 1 year ago

    Yes, JAileen, the waist cinch is what made me buy it -- it helps to insulate a bit, too. I debated over the long or shorter version and took the long simply because I might want to layer a long cardigan or a blazer underneath and didn't want the lengths all fighting with each other. Being cotton, it does *stick* a bit to my leg at times (depending on what pants I am wearing) but I still think it was the right choice for me. 

    Good idea on the buttons -- I might try that, Rebekah

    Once I made the decision to keep the jacket it miraculously felt better on -- I think I allowed myself to scrunch sleeves, etc. and suddenly it felt like "mine."  The colour's really stunning in person. I'll try to set up the DSLR for some better shots. 

  • Chris987 replied 1 year ago

    Great pieces! I have a similar jacket, a bit shorter, in olive, from BananaR and it definitely is versatile. I tried wearing it in a real downpour once to prove that it wasn't completely waterproof...:-) I know what you mean about zippers that open at top and bottom.

    Love the tops on you. The grey striped one looks GREAT with the pink jacket....do you like that combo? I wish this brand fit me better but they are usually cut for a thinner torso than I have.

  • Beth Ann replied 1 year ago

    Love all of these pieces for you, Suz!  I generally never try anything on in JCrew.  It always seems cut for slender rectangles.  I get inspiration there, though!  I particularly love the tee with the jacket -- popped collars look great with your new hair!

    Buttons?  I get those from Mom.  She's inherited antique buttons from her mother and aunts, and from other friends who knew she sews. I've heard her ask a friend to give her buttons off of a great jacket when she was getting ready to donate it!

  • jlpp replied 1 year ago

    Really glad you're keeping the jacket and adore your plaid pants too. You look great in everything you posted here.

  • Banoffi replied 1 year ago

    Nice pieces - and they all look great on you!  Thank you for the review. I really like the pink jacket with the striped shirt.

  • smittie replied 1 year ago

    I love all these items and think the styling of the pink jacket is great. Popped collars and scrunched sleeves always look better :-)

    Muffin, I rather like the yellow buttons too! But understand why one might want to switch them out.

  • Suz replied 1 year ago

    I think the gold buttons look good, too, but not so much on me now, with my hair. With blonde hair or even brown hair (if you wear gold accessories) they are super. 

    Thanks for all the kind words. 

  • texstyle replied 1 year ago

    Love the field jackets (I have that dark olive from last year) and the shirt is so pretty. I'd like to add a few more "pretty" things to my closet this year. It is very helpful to read the reviews, thank you for sharing!

  • Elle replied 1 year ago

    Really helpful reviews!  Thank you.

  • replied 1 year ago

    The pink jacket is definitely great on you!

  • Runcarla replied 1 year ago

    I snag the J.Crew look book for inspo, and their windows have been great this year. Alas, their items seem designed for a narrower build than mine.

    Glad you kept the pink jacket

  • Karie replied 1 year ago

    Looks like you made out really well at J Crew! They are quickly becoming my favorite store. 

    What size are the buttons? I can look around at some of our shops here. Fabric stores might have some nice ones, thrift shops will have ones that you could remove from other blazers, and you'll probably find some in Etsy shops.

  • UmmLila replied 1 year ago

    I had a pink corduroy jacket in a shade like this at least 10 years ago-- a Sarah Jessica Parker collaboration with Gap. It had hideous brown faux leather buttons. I bought some Czech art glass buttons from EBay and used those instead. This kind of thing, but there's lots of choice: 

  • peacechick replied 1 year ago

    All your new pieces look great, especially the long field jacket! I love the pink blazer on you, glad you're keeping it.

  • Windchime replied 1 year ago

    The ink blue long field jacket looks like it was made with you in mind! And, along with everyone else, I'm glad you're keeping the pink blazer. I look forward to seeing it in your WIW's.

  • shevia replied 1 year ago

    Everything looks great on you, but the pink jacket and striped sweater tee are my favorites. I need to start thinking buttons - good luck with that.

  • CocoLion replied 1 year ago

    Love #1 -- the pattern mixing of the sweater and shirt is the perfect way to do maximal.  Must copy asap...

  • rachylou replied 1 year ago

    Agree with Coco re 1. Like what you've done with the pink jacket here!

  • Sal replied 1 year ago

    I like all these looks Suz, the pattern mixing is fun! I didn't comment in the pink jacket thread as I was pretty distracted at the time- and I love how you have styled it here.
    The colour is magnificent!

  • Jjsloane replied 1 year ago

    The colors are amazing on you.

    Feeling crafty? How about spray painting the buttons? I'm working on my bathroom vanity hardware now and seems similar. 

  • Style Fan replied 1 year ago

    Great reviews Suz.  I love the look of the J. Crew cashmere Ts.  Maybe I will check them out.  Love how you have styled the pink jacket here.  It looks more like you.

  • chadya replied 1 year ago

    stealing buttons from the thrift store coat, that's low
    just buy the coat already

  • chadya replied 1 year ago

    ETA
    Yarn shops and shows  can be a resource for lots of buttons
    was at one recently, not sure if they were vintage or packaged to look vintage or mix of both

  • Joy replied 1 year ago

    Thank you for these reviews. I don't know why I've stayed away from JCrew and need to try it since they fit you so well. A coat like that may work well in winter here.
    It looks like you have already Suzified the pink jacket. It looks great with the striped sweater and jeans, with the collar popped.

  • Auburn replied 1 year ago

    That pink jacket just arrived at my house yesterday!  GMTA!
    I've had a bright pink blazer on my wish list for YEARS and have never found one that I really like until now.  
    I wear blazers (but not full suits) almost daily, so I love having colored and patterned options to liven up my basic black pants.  I agree that the color is fabulous and the fabric wasn't as itchy as some of the reviews had indicated.  I'm keeping mine as well and because I can't be bothered, am just dealing with the gold buttons.  They actually don't bother me too much; they read traditional but I think that can be fun when mixed up with a clearly modern look.

You need to be logged in to comment