A few reviews: Blondo and BR silk-cashmere

Hi, all --

My computer is finally working again! (And yay for warranty -- they had to replace everything except the motherboard. Would have cost me $1500 but instead was free.)

I have been popping in here as able but hoping to catch up with you all soon. 

In the meantime, a couple of reviews/recommendations. 

First, the Blondo Elvina. I bought this "western light" boot in black about six weeks ago and have already worn it 30 times or more. So when it came time to look for a taupe bootie to work with my new consignment Pink Tartan jacket (and other things) I was delighted to learn that Elvira comes in dark taupe. 

For me, this is almost an ur-bootie. It has the perfect 2 inch heel height and slope in the footbed for personal comfort. (It actually feels lower than 2 inches to me so those who like a 1.5 inch might try it in case.) The heel is exceptionally stable. The width in the front is perfect for my foot shape. The shoe has a grippy bottom to prevent slips. It is waterproof. (Take that, PNW rain!) It is also lined in warm fabric. (This unfortunately means it would likely be too warm for a very hot climate but of course it is perfect for mine.) I love the pointed toe. It doesn't show in the stock photos well but you can see it in my own pictures. I can walk 20,000 city steps in these with no discomfort. 

Some reviewers say that the ankle is too snug. As you can see, it is actually quite loose on me. But no "flower pot" effect because the loose areas are front and back rather than side to side. This also means no rubbing on that part of my calf. Instant comfort. It also looks quite nice with a skirt or dress with toned hose -- the pointed toe makes it work. If you are in the market for a stylish but not extremely trendy, practical, smart-casual, waterproof bootie, I would highly recommend. 

Next up, the BR silk-cashmere pullover. This is also part of my "Pink Tartan" complement. It is a lightweight knit, tailored at the shoulders and sleeves and bust in my regular size but very fluid below. However, since it's thin, it can be tucked easily or semi-tucked. It's quite long on the body but again, not bulky. It comes in a wide range of colours and makes a terrific simple "base layer" under a blazer because it is not bulky yet it is warm. 

1
2
3
4
5
6
This post is also published in the youlookfab forum. You can read and reply to it in either place. All replies will appear in both places.

22 Comments

  • suntiger replied 3 weeks ago

    Yaas :) So perfect with the new blazer! And glad you had the warantee for the computer, i bet that was a relief!
    But if the old country song Elvira is an earworm all day its all your fault :)

  • Christina F. replied 3 weeks ago

    Looking great, as usual. Thank you for the reviews. BR has become my go-to for knitwear (and other tops) essentials, aside from Boden.

  • Elizabeth P replied 3 weeks ago

    Fabulous Suz!  Glad your computer is fixed, I've missed you! (even though I've been very spotty on here as well lately)

    Every time you post about those boots, I stare at the Bay website.  They weren't included in their 50% off boots sale a day or two ago :(  But I think they are just too close to my Aquatalias.   (Step away....)

  • Joy replied 3 weeks ago

    Great pieces. I was just thinking today that I wanted to ask if anyone had tried silk-cashmere. Is it a blend of the two materials or just silky feeling?
    Do you think it will pill?
    The BR top looks like it could be the layering workhorse that I am looking for in a bunch of colors. The boots are fab!

  • Cardiff girl replied 3 weeks ago

    O,that was lucky with the computer.l ve just been looking at those BR sweaters and wondering about them so good to get the heads up from you.You look lovely and put together as always.

  • Suz replied 3 weeks ago

    Joy, I notice one review complains of pilling. I will let you know. I'm only on my first wear so obviously no signs of that yet. I do have to say that from the hand-feel of this, I doubt if pilling will be an issue. It is lightweight. It feels warm like very light cashmere, but drapes like silk. It seems to take colour like silk, too -- so the tones are saturated and glowing. 

    Elizabeth, those Aquatalias are amazing!! But a lot pricier than the Blondos, I'm sure!

  • Elizabeth P replied 3 weeks ago

    Yup, they were pricier, but exactly what I needed and on sale so I figured it was a sign.  I got them almost exactly three years ago, they've been total workhorses, and look brand new.  I feel like I should be starting to keep an eye out for a replacement (thus drooling over yours) because they should be looking worn, but they really aren't!

  • texstyle replied 3 weeks ago

    The booties look perfect with the blazer and that lovely new berry sweater!

  • Style Fan replied 3 weeks ago

    Thank goodness for warranties!  Those booties sound tempting but I don't get along with pointy toes.  I am going to check out some Blondos while I am in Montreal.  Love the berry colour on you.  

  • SarahD8 replied 3 weeks ago

    Gorgeous! I love that you are building a Pink Tartan complement. Please keep us updated as to how it develops! I'm really interested in your process.

  • torontogirl replied 3 weeks ago

    Suz, I think I mentioned this elsewhere but I have the same boot and I love love love it. So comfy!
    I was looking up outfit inspiration for crewneck sweaters today but your post has the best ones! Beautiful colors and polished styling. Simply lovely.

  • Angie replied 3 weeks ago

    The boots are PERFECT, Suz. Brilliant with the new blazer - it's a great colour match, right? It looks that way in the pics. Clever find. 

    Nice cranberry layering top too. Fab under a blazer and with a scarf. And great worn on its own too. You look "Signature Suz" in #2. Your favourite West Coast shoulder weather look. Loving the Western belt. An excellent refresh.

  • Suz replied 3 weeks ago

    Thanks, Angie. In person, yes, it is a great colour pairing (booties and jacket). Not an exact match but very close in undertone and the boots also work well with other things in the wardrobe. So they'll be well used. 

    TG, I hadn't taken in that you also have these booties! Perfect for you, too, I imagine! 

    Sarah, I will indeed keep you posted. I'm not buying too much for the complement just now -- this top and the booties pretty much do it. I already have a burgundy bag, burgundy jeans, a pink sweater that works (shown) and a couple of shirts that work with the jacket. But if I find the right burgundy belt, skirt, culotte, or trousers, or a berry toned sweater dress, I will consider adding. 

    Style Fan, Cardiff Girl -- I know!! I was so glad to have that warranty...

  • shevia replied 3 weeks ago

    Suz you have become a precision shopping pro. I want your boots - and I am sure you can imagine I have no need for them. The cranberry(?) pullover looks sensational on you! Also admiring your belt use! 

  • Jessikams replied 3 weeks ago

    Happy to see that blazer is finding itself in many good outfits

  • Runcarla replied 3 weeks ago

    I do love how you have folded this one-of-a-kind blazer into your closet and extended the range of your palette with it and the new booties.

    PS: we are getting our first snowfall of the season...miss it? :-)

  • lyn67 replied 3 weeks ago

    Applause, love your new things, even more as everything is so comfy and round up in a fab true capsule! Love your colors this fall!

  • lisa p replied 3 weeks ago

    Great boots - they look really good on your foot too.  It's an interesting colour and it will be , well, interesting to hear what else you wear them with . I bet they will be super-versatile.  I'm in envy of your on-going blazer weather .......it's such a short season here, and I bet you are loving your extended fall weather (albeit damp).  I'm already into winter gear and thick sweaters.  

  • Gail replied 3 weeks ago

    Really like the boots in that color. They seem to be sold out everywhere I look though. The BR sweater looks fab on you !

  • Angie replied 3 weeks ago

    YAY, Suz. I know you'll wear these booties till the cows come home.

  • smittie replied 3 weeks ago

    Love these trends on you Suz. Both the pink sweater and booties are excellent. The western belt is fun - if only it came in leopard too :-)
    The fact that your shoes match your blazer makes me happy. Everything looks so pulled together.

  • Ginkgo replied 3 weeks ago

    I love the deep pink and taupe colors on you, Suz.  Looks like the perfect outfit for striding through Vancouver.

You need to be logged in to comment